Legislative Assembly of Alberta
The Mace


May 29, 2007

Students awarded at the Alberta Legislature

Edmonton—Speaker Ken Kowalski, hosted a ceremony today at the Alberta Legislature honouring Allyson Kupchenko of Holy Redeemer Catholic School in the Strathcona Constituency.

The student received congratulations from Rob Lougheed MLA for Strathcona as well as a plaque and a $200 cheque on behalf of the Alberta Branch of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA).  All Alberta MLAs are members of the provincial branch of the association.

The Royal Commonwealth Society, Canada contributes to the Essay contest bursary adding $100 to the 1st place winner and allowing for a 2nd and 3rd place winner to the Essay Contest.

Congratulations were extended by Ray Martin, MLA Edmonton Beverly Clareview to Megan Connors of Belvedere School who placed 2nd.   Emma Maria Van Loon of Barrhead School placed 3rd  and received congratulations by, Hon. Ken Kowalski, MLA of Barrhead-Morinville-Westlock.

Three other Alberta students receiving CPA bursaries were also honoured. In an effort to increase young Albertans’ interest in parliament, the CPA awards bursaries annually to Alberta Girls’ Parliament (AGP) and TUXIS Parliament students.  Winners received a cheque and a commemorative plaque on behalf of the CPA.  Congratulations were extended by Len Webber, MLA Calgary Foothills to Alberta Girls’ Parliament (AGP) winner Amanda Garrow and by Laurie Blakeman, MLA Edmonton Centre to winner Rebecca Bootsman who each received a $400. cheque.  Congratulations were extended by Honourable Rob Renner, MLA Medicine Hat and Minister of Environment to bursary winner Annette Kelm the TUXIS Parliament recipient of an $800 cheque and commemorative plaque.



For media inquiries, please contact:

Bev Alenius, Executive Assistant
Legislative Assembly of Alberta
Office of the Speaker
Phone: 427-2464
Email: bev.alenius@assembly.ab.ca




Legislative Assembly of Alberta
For technical questions or comments concerning this website contact