An Alberta provincial election has been called and with the dissolution of the 29th Legislature there are no Members of the Legislative Assembly until the results of the general election become official. Following the election, biographical information for returning and newly-elected Members will be posted as it becomes available. During the election period, constituency offices will remain open to serve the public.
Marlin Schmidt
Former Member 0872
Courtesy of Legislative Assembly of Alberta
MLA Profile
Start DateEnd DateTotal Days 
Election DateElection TypePartyConstituencyResultLegislature
2015-May-05General ElectionAlberta New Democratic PartyEdmonton-Gold BarElected29
2012-Apr-23General ElectionAlberta New Democratic PartyEdmonton-Gold BarDefeated28
Start DateEnd DateParty 
2015-May-05 Alberta New Democratic Party 
Start DateEnd DateService TypePosition
2016-Feb-02 Executive CouncilMinister of Advanced Education
2015-Jun-032016-Mar-07Legislative AssemblyGovernment Whip
LegislatureSessionCommittee NamePosition
291Special Standing Committee on Members' ServicesDeputy Chair
Every effort has been made to ensure the accuracy of the information above. To report errors or omissions contact library.requests@assembly.ab.ca.
Last Updated: March 19, 2019

Legislative Assembly of Alberta
For technical questions or comments concerning this website contact webmaster@assembly.ab.ca