Biography for Honourable Jeff Johnson (PC)
Contact Information  | Expense Disclosure Reports

MLA for Athabasca-Sturgeon-Redwater

Jeff Johnson

Minister of Seniors

Jeff Johnson was elected to his first term as a Member of the Legislative Assembly for Athabasca-Sturgeon-Redwater (formerly Athabasca-Redwater) on March 3, 2008.

On September 15, 2014, Mr. Johnson was appointed Minister of Seniors. In addition to his regular duties as an MLA and the Minister of Seniors, he serves as a member of the Treasury Board and the Government’s Operations Committee.

He has previously served as Minister of Education, Minister of Infrastructure, and Minister responsible for the Oil Sands Secretariat and Parliamentary Assistant to the Treasury Board.

Jeff has experience working in both the financial markets as a futures trading floor pit boss and in building a series of successful small businesses. As owner and president of the largest rural Xerox sales agency in Western Canada, he was recognized as the Xerox Canada Agent of the Year three times and selected to be one of six members appointed to the National Agent Council.

As a former coach and trainer, Jeff has enjoyed working with hockey players at the junior, college and pro levels and learned the importance of mentoring and teamwork.

Jeff has a Bachelor of Arts degree in psychology and he continues to remain an active member of his community through various organizations like his local Rotary Club and his family’s church.

He and his wife, Kim, along with their three young children continue to live in beautiful Athabasca.

September 15, 2014

Legislative Assembly of Alberta
For technical questions or comments concerning this website contact