Leela Aheer
Mrs. Leela Sharon Aheer (UCP)
MLA for Chestermere-Rocky View
Current Member 0883
Courtesy of Legislative Assembly of Alberta
MLA Biography

Leela Sharon Aheer was elected as the Member of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta for Chestermere-Rocky View on May 5, 2015.

Mrs. Aheer currently serves as a member of the Standing Committee on Legislative Offices. She has previously served as a member of the Standing Committee on Resource Stewardship and the Standing Committee on Families and Communities.

Mrs. Aheer has been a proud small-business owner since 1998. She has successfully operated a number of small businesses, each employing several people, including the Aheer Studio of Performance and Chestermere's WestCreek Auto Wash.

Mrs. Aheer studied political science at the University of Calgary for several years before obtaining a bachelor's degree in music from the University of Manitoba. She is a professional musician and is classically trained in all styles. She plays the flute and teaches voice, piano and guitar. Mrs. Aheer has won various awards at the Calgary Kiwanis music festival and has nine songs published to her credit. With her group Minerva she collaborated on a CD entitled Follow Me, which received a national release in Canada. She is fluent in French and also sings and instructs voice in French, Italian, German, Spanish, Punjabi, Hindi and Telugu. She and her students have won awards and scholarships for voice and musical theatre.

Mrs. Aheer is an active volunteer, especially in areas of music and the arts. She is known to lend her time and energy to more than 50 events per year and has received numerous accolades for her efforts, including the volunteer of the year award from the town of Chestermere in 2013. Mrs. Aheer is a dedicated advocate for individuals with special needs and regularly spends her time volunteering at hospitals and other care facilities.

Mrs. Aheer along with her family – husband, Malkeet, and two children, Akesh and Sehran – reside in Chestermere.

December 13, 2017

Legislative Assembly of Alberta
For technical questions or comments concerning this website contact webmaster@assembly.ab.ca