Legislative Assembly Mace Legislative Assembly of Alberta

News Release for March 18, 1999

Report of All Party Review of Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act Tabled

Edmonton - The report from the all-party committee reviewing the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act was tabled in the Alberta Legislature today by Gary Friedel, MLA for Peace River and Committee Chair. The report includes 81 recommendations for amendments to the Act that will now be taken under consideration by the Alberta Government.

"The committee members worked hard on a review process that started one year ago, and dealt with 140 written submissions plus additional informal feedback" said Mr. Friedel. "I would like to extend my thanks to the members for their contributions and to those Albertans who took the time to participate in the review."

In addition to Gary Friedel, the Select Special Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act Review Committee included Deputy Chairman Ron Stevens, MLA Calgary-Glenmore; Pam Barrett, MLA Edmonton-Highlands; Mike Cardinal, MLA Athabasca-Wabasca; Gary Dickson, MLA Calgary-Buffalo; Denis Ducharme, MLA Bonnyville-Cold Lake; Pamela Paul, MLA Edmonton-Castle Downs; and Janis Tarchuk, MLA Banff-Cochrane.

Copies of the final report are available by contacting Ms. Diane Shumyla, Committee Assistant, Legislative Assembly of Alberta at telephone: (780) 427-4946 (toll free by dialing 310-0000 then enter 427-4946) or through the Legislative Assembly web site at http://www.assembly.ab.ca. Email requests can be sent to dshumyla@assembly.ab.ca.

The FOIP Act, passed in 1994 and enacted in October 1, 1995, provides people with the right to access records in the custody or control of a public body. It also establishes control over the collection, use and disclosure of personal information by public bodies, in order to protect the privacy of Albertans. The all-party review was required under Section 91 of the Act.

- 30 -

For further information contact:

Gary Friedel, MLA Peace River
Chair, Select Special Review Committee of the Legislative Assembly
Telephone (780) 422-5374

Legislative Assembly of Alberta
Copyright (c) 1999 Legislative Assembly of Alberta