Twenty-Seventh Legislature First Session



Standing Committee on

## **Legislative Offices**

## Reappointment of Ombudsman

October 2008





October 23, 2008

To the Honourable Ken Kowalski Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Alberta

The Standing Committee on Legislative Offices has the honour to submit its Report relating to the recommendation for reappointment of the Ombudsman for consideration by the Legislative Assembly.

Len Mitzel, MLA Chair, Standing Committee on Legislative Offices The Standing Committee on Legislative Offices' all-party membership is as follows:

Chair: Mr. Len Mitzel, MLA

Cypress-Medicine Hat (PC)

**Deputy Chair:** Mr. Ty Lund, MLA

Rocky Mountain House (PC)

Members:

Mr. Manmeet Bhullar, MLA Calgary-Montrose (PC)

Ms Laurie Blakeman, MLA Edmonton-Centre (L)

Mr. Robin Campbell, MLA West Yellowhead (PC)

Mr. Fred Horne, MLA Edmonton-Rutherford (PC)

Mr. Thomas Lukaszuk, MLA Edmonton-Castle Downs (PC)

Mr. Hugh MacDonald, MLA Edmonton-Gold Bar (L)

Mr. Richard Marz, MLA

Olds-Didsbury-Three Hills (PC)

Ms Rachel Notley, MLA Edmonton-Strathcona (NDP)

Mr. Len Webber, MLA Calgary-Foothills (PC)

At the August 20<sup>th</sup>, 2008 meeting of the Standing Committee on Legislative Offices the following recommendation was passed by the Committee:

**MOVED by Mr. Campbell** that the Standing Committee on Legislative Offices recommend to the Legislative Assembly that Mr. G.B. (Gord) Button be reappointed Ombudsman for a term of five years, and that the Speaker be authorized to enter into a contract with Mr. Button at the time of the appointment.

2