LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF ALBERTA



Standing Committee on Legislative Offices

Report on the Appointment of an Acting Chief Electoral Officer

June 2024

Standing Committee on Legislative Offices 3rd Floor – Queen Elizabeth II Building 9820 107 Street NW Edmonton, Alberta T5K 1E7 780.644.8621 LOCommittee.Admin@assembly.ab.ca



STANDING COMMITTEE ON LEGISLATIVE OFFICES

June 2024

To the Honourable Nathan M. Cooper Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Alberta

The Standing Committee on Legislative Offices has the honour to submit its report relating to its recommendation for an appointment of an Acting Chief Electoral Officer.

Sincerely,

(original signed by)

Shane C. Getson, MLA Chair, Standing Committee on Legislative Offices

MEMBERS OF THE STANDING COMMITTEE ON LEGISLATIVE OFFICES 31st Legislature, First Session

Shane C. Getson, MLA Chair Lac Ste. Anne-Parkland (UC)

Glenn van Dijken, MLA Deputy Chair Athabasca-Barrhead-Westlock (UC)

Amanda Chapman, MLA Calgary-Beddington (NDP)

Janet Eremenko, MLA Calgary-Currie (NDP)

Martin M. Long, MLA West Yellowhead (UC)

David Shepherd, MLA Edmonton-City Centre (NDP) Nolan B. Dyck, MLA Grande Prairie (UC)

Hon. Grant R. Hunter, MLA Taber-Warner (UC)

Marie F. Renaud, MLA St. Albert (NDP)

Scott Sinclair, MLA Lesser Slave Lake (UC)

Substitutions Pursuant to Standing Order 56(2.1-2.4):

Hon. David Eggen, MLA** Edmonton-North West (NDP)

Heather Sweet, MLA[†] Edmonton-Manning (NDP)

^{**}Substitution for David Shepherd on June 20, 2024 [†] Substitution for Amanda Chapman on June 20, 2024

The position of Chief Electoral Officer is currently vacant, and the Deputy Chief Electoral Officer, Pamela Renwick, has advised the Standing Committee on Legislative Offices ("Standing Committee") that she will be resigning her position effective July 4, 2024, and has recommended that LaRae Petrowsky, Director, Election Operations, be appointed Acting Chief Electoral Officer. At its Thursday, June 20, 2024, meeting the Standing Committee considered the recommendation for Ms Petrowsky's appointment as Acting Chief Electoral Officer.

Section 3(2) of the *Election Act*, excerpted below, relates to the appointment of an Acting Chief Electoral Officer:

3(2) If a vacancy occurs while the Legislature is not in session, the Lieutenant Governor in Council, on the recommendation of the Standing Committee, may appoint a Chief Electoral Officer to fill the vacancy, and unless that office sooner becomes vacant, the person so appointed holds office until a Chief Electoral Officer is appointed under subsection (1), but if an appointment under subsection (1) is not made within 30 days after the commencement of the next session, the appointment under this subsection lapses and there is deemed to be another vacancy in the office of Chief Electoral Officer.

The Committee passed the following motion in this respect:

MOVED by Mr. Dyck that the Standing Committee on Legislative Offices recommend to the Lieutenant Governor in Council that LaRae Petrowsky be appointed under section 3(2) of the *Election Act* as the Acting Chief Electoral Officer effective July 4, 2024, until such time as an individual is appointed to the position of Chief Electoral Officer or the appointment expires in accordance with section 3(2), whichever occurs first.