

Standing Committee on Legislative Offices

Report on the Appointment of the Public Interest Commissioner

March 2013



Standing Committee on Legislative Offices 801 Legislature Annex 9718 - 107 Street Edmonton AB T5K 1E4 780.427.1350 committees@assembly.ab.ca



March 2013

To the Honourable Gene Zwozdesky Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Alberta

The Standing Committee on Legislative Offices has the honour of submitting its report containing the recommendation of a candidate for the position of **Public Interest Commissioner** for consideration by the Legislative Assembly.

Sincerely,

[Original Signed by Chair]

David Xiao, MLA Chair, Standing Committee on Legislative Offices

c. Dr. David McNeil
Clerk of the Legislative Assembly

STANDING COMMITTEE ON LEGISLATIVE OFFICES

COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP

Chair:

Mr. David Xiao, MLA Edmonton-McClung (PC)

Deputy Chair:

Mr. Everett McDonald, MLA Grande Prairie-Smoky (PC)

Members:

Mr. Gary Bikman, MLA Cardston-Taber-Warner (W)

Ms Laurie Blakeman, MLA Edmonton-Centre (AL)

Dr. Neil Brown, Q.C., MLA Calgary-Mackay-Nose Hill (PC)

Ms Alana DeLong, MLA Calgary-Bow (PC)

Mr. David Eggen, MLA Edmonton-Calder (ND)

Mrs. Genia Leskiw, MLA Bonnyville-Cold Lake (PC)

Mr. Sohail Quadri, MLA Edmonton-Mill Woods (PC)

Mr. George Rogers, MLA Leduc-Beaumont (PC)

Mr. Jeff Wilson, MLA Calgary-Shaw (W)

RECOMMENDATION

At the February 14, 2013 meeting of the Standing Committee on Legislative Offices, the following recommendation was passed by the Committee:

MOVED by Dr. Brown that the Standing Committee on Legislative Offices recommend to the Legislative Assembly that Mr. Peter Hourihan be appointed Public Interest Commissioner for a term commencing with the Proclamation of the *Public Interest Disclosure (Whistleblower Protection) Act* and expiring October 16, 2016 and that the Speaker be authorized to make any arrangements required concerning Mr. Hourihan's appointment as Public Interest Commissioner.

BACKGROUND

At its meeting of February 14, 2013, the Standing Committee on Legislative Offices reviewed a written request received on January 30, 2013 from the Hon. Mr. Scott, Associate Minister of Accountability, Transparency and Transformation, to have the Ombudsman appointed Public Interest Commissioner under the *Public Interest Disclosure (Whistleblower Protection) Act* (the Act). The Associate Minister advised that the Act was expected to be proclaimed in force on June 1, 2013. The Committee heard from Mr. Peter Hourihan, Ombudsman, and from Mr. Robert Reynolds, Q.C., Law Clerk and Director of Interparliamentary Relations, during its consideration of this request.

After consideration of the information provided, it was the decision of the Committee to recommend the appointment of the Ombudsman as the Public Interest Commissioner.