

Standing Committee on Legislative Offices

Report on the Reappointment of the Chief Electoral Officer

February 2016



Standing Committee on Legislative Offices

3rd Floor – Federal Building

9820 107 Street NW

Edmonton, Alberta T5K 1E7

(780) 427-1350

Committees@assembly.ab.ca

STANDING COMMITTEE ON LEGISLATIVE OFFICES

February 2016

To the Honourable Robert E. Wanner Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Alberta

The Standing Committee on Legislative Offices has the honour to submit its report relating to the recommendation for reappointment of the Chief Electoral Officer, for consideration by the Legislative Assembly.

Sincerely,

Estefania Cortes-Vargas, MLA Chair, Standing Committee on Legislative Offices

Membership of the Standing Committee on Legislative Offices

Chair: Estefania Cortes-Vargas, MLA

Strathcona-Sherwood Park (ND)

Deputy Chair: Heather Sweet, MLA

Edmonton-Manning (ND)

Members: Michael Connolly, MLA

Calgary-Hawkwood (ND)

Nathan Cooper, MLA

Olds-Didsbury-Three Hills (W)

Trevor Horne, MLA

Spruce Grove-St. Alberta (ND)

Jamie Kleinsteuber, MLA Calgary-Northern Hills (ND)

Jason Nixon, MLA

Rimbey-Rocky Mountain House-Sundre (W)

David Shepherd, MLA Edmonton-Centre (ND)

Glenn van Dijken, MLA

Barrhead-Morinville-Westlock (W)

Denise Woollard, MLA Edmonton-Mill Creek (NDP)

[Vacant]*

Substitution pursuant to Standing Order 56(2.1 - 2.4)

Calgary-West (PC)

Tuesday, February 23, 2016

^{*} Mike Ellis, MLA

At its Tuesday, February 23, 2016 meeting, the Standing Committee on Legislative Offices reviewed the January 25, 2016, request from Mr. Glen Resler, Chief Electoral Officer, for the Committee's consideration of an extension to his term of office, which will expire on May 5, 2016.

Section 3(3) of the *Election Act*, excerpted below, provides for the reappointment of the Chief Electoral Officer:

Appointment of Chief Electoral Officer

(3) The appointment of the Chief Electoral Officer expires 12 months after polling day for a general election unless the Chief Electoral Officer is reappointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council prior to that date on the recommendation of the Standing Committee.

The Committee agreed with Mr. Resler's request to be reappointed, and the Committee passed the following motion in this respect:

MOVED by Mr. Kleinsteuber that the Standing Committee on Legislative Offices recommend to the Lieutenant Governor in Council that Mr. Glen Resler be reappointed as Chief Electoral Officer.



