

Twenty-Seventh Legislature First Session

Standing Committee on Community Services

October 2008

Report on Bill 18: Film and Video Classification Act



Standing Committee on Community Services 801 Legislature Annex Edmonton, AB T5K 1E4 Phone (780) 415-2878 <u>CommServ.Committee@assembly.ab.ca</u> www.assembly.ab.ca/committees/communityservices



October, 2008

To the Honourable Ken Kowalski Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta

The Standing Committee on Community Services has the honour to submit its Report containing recommendations on Bill 18, *Film and Video Classification Act*, for consideration by the Legislative Assembly of Alberta.

Dave Rodney, MLA Calgary-Lougheed Chair Standing Committee on Community Services

Contents

Members of the Standing Committee on Community Services	3
1.0 Introduction	4
2.0 Order of Reference	4
3.0 Recommendations	5
Appendix A: List of Submitters and Presenters	6

MEMBERS OF THE STANDING COMMITTEE ON COMMUNITY SERVICES

27th Legislature, First Session

Dave Rodney, MLA Chair Calgary-Lougheed (PC)

Kent Hehr, MLA Deputy Chair Calgary-Buffalo (L)

Carl Benito, MLA Edmonton-Mill Woods (PC)

Harry B. Chase, MLA Calgary-Varsity (L)

Jeff Johnson, MLA Athabasca-Redwater (PC)

Thomas A. Lukaszuk, MLA Edmonton-Castle Downs (PC)

Janice Sarich, MLA Edmonton-Decore (PC)

Substitutions pursuant to Temporary Standing Order 56(2.1-2.4)

Laurie Blakeman, MLA Edmonton-Centre (L)

Fred Horne, MLA Edmonton-Rutherford (PC)

Brian Mason, MLA Edmonton-Highlands-Norwood (NDP)

Peter Sandhu, MLA Edmonton-Manning (PC)

Dr. Raj Sherman, MLA Edmonton-Meadowlark (PC) Naresh Bhardwaj, MLA Edmonton-Ellerslie (PC)

Arno Doerksen, MLA Strathmore-Brooks (PC)

Art Johnston, MLA Calgary-Hays (PC)

Rachel Notley, MLA Edmonton-Strathcona (NDP)

1.0 Introduction

Bill 18, *Film and Video Classification Act* was introduced, received first reading and was referred to the Standing Committee on Community Services on May 21, 2008.

2.0 Order of Reference

Excerpt from the Votes and Proceedings of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta, Wednesday, May 21, 2008:

On motion by Hon. Mr. Zwozdesky, Deputy Government House Leader, the following Bill was referred to the Standing Committee on Community Services for the committee's review with the committee reporting to the Assembly in the fourth week of October 2008:

Bill 18 Film and Video Classification Act – Hon. Mr. Blackett

3.0 Recommendations

Pursuant to Standing Order 74.2(1),

When a Bill is referred to a Policy Field Committee after first reading, the committee may conduct public hearings on the subject matter of the Bill and report its observations, opinions and recommendations with respect to the Bill to the Assembly.

The Standing Committee on Community Services recommends to the Assembly that the Bill proceed and further recommends that:

Section 13(2)(b) of Bill 18 be reviewed to ensure that the definition of an adult video film is not inadvertently applied to a video film that might be otherwise classified under a different rating (e.g. an R rating).

The Minister of Service Alberta review Ontario's *Ticket Speculation Act* with the objective of determining whether or not Alberta's *Fair Trading Act* requires amendments in order to maintain the protection of Alberta's consumers, cultural workers and industries.

Appendix A: List of Submitters and Presenters

The Standing Committee on Community Services invited written submissions on Bill 18, *Film and Video Classification Act.* The Committee received 16 written submissions. At the invitation of the Committee five of the submitters made oral presentations and answered questions at the Committee's September 18 meeting in Edmonton, Alberta.

Written Submissions

Name	Organization
1. Cristina Soto Grenier	Private Citizen
2. Troy and Lindsay Anderson	Private Citizens
3. Corry Morcos	Private Citizen
4. Stephen Keates	Private Citizen
5. N/A	Family and Community Twining Society (FACTS)
6. Lisa Kempton	Private Citizen
7. Peter Pilarski	Retail Council of Canada (RCC)
8. Wendy Noss	Canadian Motion Picture Distributors Association (CMPDA)
9. Marc Seguin	Canadian Film and Television Production Association (CFTPA)
10. Adina Lebo	Motion Picture Theatre Associations of Canada (MPTAC)
11. Leonard Binning	Motion Picture Theatre Associations of Alberta (MPTAA)
12. Melissa Savage	Private Citizen
13. Jason J. Kee	Entertainment Software Association of Canada (ESAC)
14. Ted East	Canadian Association of Film Distributors & Exporters (CAFDE)
15. Neil Campbell	Alberta Motion Picture Industries Association (AMPIA)
16. Douglas Pitt	Simon Poultney Foundation

Presentations

Name	Organization
Susan Peacock	Canadian Motion Picture Distributors Association
	(CMPDA)
Ted East (via teleconference)	Canadian Association of Film Distributors & Exporters
	(CAFDE)
Jason J. Kee	Entertainment Software Association of Canada (ESAC)
Adina Lebo	Motion Picture Theatre Associations of Canada (MPTAC)
Neil Campbell	Alberta Motion Picture Industries Association (AMPIA) and
	the Motion Picture Theatre Association of Alberta
	(MPTAA)

Report on the Standing Committee on Community Services October 2008