

Twenty-Sixth Legislature
Third Session

Standing Committee on Community Services

NOVEMBER 2007

Report on Bill 41: Health Professions Statutes Amendment Act, 2007



Standing Committee on Community Services 801 Legislature Annex Edmonton, AB T5K 1E4 (780) 427-1348 CommServ.Committee@assembly.ab.ca



November, 2007

To the Honourable Ken Kowalski Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta

The Standing Committee on Community Services has the honour to submit its Report containing recommendations on Bill 41, *Health Professions Statutes Amendment Act, 2007* for consideration by the Legislative Assembly of Alberta.

Richard Marz, MLA Olds-Didsbury-Three Hills Acting Chair* Standing Committee on Community Services

Weslyn Mather, MLA Edmonton-Mill Woods Deputy Chair Standing Committee on Community Services

*Substitution pursuant to Temporary Standing Order 56(2.1-2.3)

Contents

Members of the Standing Committee on Community Services	
1.0 Introduction	2
2.0 Order of Reference	2
3.0 Recommendations	3
Appendix A: List of Presenters	4

MEMBERS OF THE STANDING COMMITTEE ON COMMUNITY SERVICES

26th Legislature, Third Session

Richard Marz,* MLA Acting Chair Olds-Didsbury-Three Hills (PC)

Weslyn Mather, MLA Deputy Chair Edmonton-Mill Woods (L)

Tony Abbott, MLA Drayton Valley-Calmar (PC)

Dan Backs, MLA Edmonton-Manning (Ind)

Jack Flaherty, MLA St. Albert (L)

LeRoy Johnson, MLA Wetaskiwin-Camrose (PC)

Art Johnston, MLA Calgary-Hays (PC)

Rob Lougheed, MLA Strathcona (PC)

Thomas Lukaszuk, MLA Edmonton-Castle Downs (PC)

Dr. Raj Pannu, MLA Edmonton-Strathcona (NDP)

Shiraz Shariff, MLA Calgary-McCall (PC)

^{*}Substitution pursuant to Temporary Standing Order 56(2.1-2.3).

1.0 Introduction

Bill 41: Health Professions Statutes Amendment Act, 2007 was introduced by the Minister of Health and Wellness and received First Reading on June 12, 2007. The Bill was referred on that same date to the Standing Committee on Community Services. The Committee invited written submissions on the Bill from stakeholders and advertised for written submissions from the public (See Appendix A: List of Submitters).

2.0 Order of Reference

Excerpt from the Votes and Proceedings of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta, Tuesday, June 12, 2007:

On motion by Hon. Mr. Hancock, Minister of Health and Wellness, the following Bill was referred to the Standing Committee on Community Services for the committee's consideration, review, and comment, and requests the committee to report to the Assembly on or before the first week of the Fall 2007 sitting: Bill 41 Health Professions Statutes Amendment Act, 2007.

3.0 Recommendations

Pursuant to Standing Order 74.2(1),

When a Bill is referred to a Policy Field Committee after first reading, the committee may conduct public hearings on the subject matter of the Bill and report its observations, opinions and recommendations with respect to the Bill to the Assembly.

The Standing Committee on Community Services reports that the Bill proceed and provides the following observations, opinions and recommendations:

Public Health Threat (s. 1.1(1))

The Committee recommends that this section of the Bill proceed as currently worded.

Minister's Direction (s. 135.1)

The Committee recommends that this section of the Bill proceed as currently worded.

Appointment of Administrators (s. 135.2(1)(d))

 The Committee recommends that the Minister consider imposing limits on the term of office for any person appointed as administrator.

Variation by Lieutenant Governor in Council (s. 135.3)

The Committee has not recommended any changes be made to section 135.3.

Lieutenant Governor in Council Regulations (s. 135.4)

• The Committee has not recommended any changes be made to section 135.4.

Appendix A: List of Presenters

The Standing Committee on Community Services invited written submissions on Bill 41: *Health Professions Statutes Amendment Act, 2007* from identified stakeholders and advertised for written submissions from the public. The Committee received 36 written submissions. Five witnesses made presentations at the Public Hearing, which took place in Edmonton on October 1, 2007.

Written Submissions

Name	Organization
1. Dr. Karen Grimsrud	Acting Chief Medical Officer of Health (Alberta)
2. Peter Doherty	Alberta Association for Marriage and Family Therapy
3. Meryl Moulton	Alberta Association of Midwives
4. Dr. Clark Mills	Alberta College and Association of Chiropractors
5. Sandra Shaw	Alberta College of Medical Laboratory Technologists
6. Greg Eberhart	Alberta College of Pharmacists
7. Pam Miller	Alberta College of Social Workers
8. Jonathan Skuba	Alberta Dental Association and College
9. Gerry N. Keifer and Michael A. Gormley	Alberta Medical Association
10. Maya Charlebois	Alberta Public Health Association
11. Maureen Hussey	Alberta Opticians Association
12. John E. Gray	Canadian Medical Protective Association
13. Lynda Heyworth	College of Dietitians of Alberta
14. James T. Casey	Private Citizen
15. Sheila A. McKay	College and Association of Registered Nurses of Alberta
16. Heather Hammonds	College of Alberta Dental Assistants
17. Dr. Trevor W. Theman	College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta
18. Brenda Walker	College of Registered Dental Hygienists of Alberta
19. Dianne Millette, et al.	College of Physical Therapists of Alberta
20. Julie Downey	Private Citizen
21. Jenn Fleming-Baker	Private Citizen
22. Tim Guest	Health Authorities Health Professions Act Regulations Review Committee
23. Jessica Kleissen	Private Citizen
24. Martine Kleissen	Private Citizen
25. Lisa Lambert	Private Citizen
26. Dorothy McKenna	Private Citizen
27. Beverly J. Muendel-Atherstone	Private Citizen
28. Daniel Neufeld	Private Citizen
29. Danielle Olivieri	Private Citizen
30. Mary Field	Opticians Association of Canada
31. Susan Podlog	Private Citizen
32. Mary Siever	Private Citizen
33. Karen Smith	Private Citizen
34. Karen Toohey	Private Citizen
35. Heather Smith	United Nurses of Alberta
36. Carmen Herbers	SEARCH Canada

Public Presentations

	Name	Organization
1.	Greg Eberhart, Registrar and Dianne Donnan, President	Alberta College of Pharmacists
2.	Margaret Hadley, President; Mary-Ann Robinson, Executive Director and Margaret Ward-Jack, Director, Communications	College and Association of Registered Nurses of Alberta
3.	Dr. Clark Mills and Dr. Brian Gushaty	Alberta College and Association of Chiropractors
4.	Dr. Trevor Theman, Registrar and Dr. Jim Bell, President	College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta
5.	Dr. Peter Doherty, President, Alberta Division	Alberta Association for Marriage and Family Therapy