

Standing Committee on Private Bills and Private Members' Public Bills

Final Report
Bill 213, *Traffic Safety (Maximum Speed Limit for Provincial Freeways)*Amendment Act, 2021

Thirtieth Legislature Second Session March 2021



Standing Committee on Private Bills and Private Members' Public Bills

3rd Floor

9820 – 107 Street
Edmonton AB T5K 1E7

780.984.6019

BillsCommittee.Admin@assembly.ab.ca



STANDING COMMITTEE ON PRIVATE BILLS AND PRIVATE MEMBERS' PUBLIC BILLS

March 2021

To the Honourable Nathan Cooper Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Alberta

I have the honour of submitting, on behalf of the Standing Committee on Private Bills and Private Members' Public Bills, the Committee's final report containing recommendations on Bill 213, *Traffic Safety (Maximum Speed Limit for Provincial Freeways) Amendment Act, 2021,* for consideration by the Legislative Assembly of Alberta.

Sincerely,

[original signed]

Mike Ellis, MLA Chair, Standing Committee on Private Bills and Private Members' Public Bills

Table of Contents

Members of the Standing Committee on Private Bills and Private Members' Public Bills	3
1.0 Introduction	
2.0 Order of Reference	
3.0 Committee Activities	
4.0 Recommendations	
Appendix A: List of Oral Presenters	5

MEMBERS OF THE STANDING COMMITTEE ON PRIVATE BILLS AND PRIVATE MEMBERS' PUBLIC BILLS

30th Legislature, Second Session

Mike Ellis, MLA Chair Calgary-West (UC)

Joseph R. Schow, MLA Deputy Chair Cardston-Siksika (UC)

Mickey K. Amery, MLA Calgary-Cross (UC)

Thomas Dang, MLA Edmonton-South (NDP)

Shane C. Getson, MLA Lac Ste. Anne-Parkland (UC)

Michaela L. Glasgo, MLA Brooks-Medicine Hat (UC)

Janis Irwin, MLA Edmonton-Highlands-Norwood (NDP) Christian E. Nielsen, MLA Edmonton-Decore (NDP)

Brad Rutherford, MLA Leduc-Beaumont (UC)

Lori Sigurdson, MLA Edmonton-Riverview (NDP)

R.J. Sigurdson, MLA Highwood (UC)

Substitutions pursuant to Standing Order 56(2.1-2.4):

Ronald Orr, MLA* Lacombe-Ponoka (UC)

Angela D. Pitt, MLA[†] Airdrie-East (UC)

Member also in attendance on March 17, 2021:

Searle Turton, MLA Spruce Grove-Stony Plain (UC)

^{*} Substitute for R.J. Sigurdson on March 17, 2021

[†] Substitute for Mickey Amery on March 22, 2021

1.0 INTRODUCTION

Bill 213, *Traffic Safety (Maximum Speed Limit for Provincial Freeways) Amendment Act, 2021*, was introduced and received first reading on March 10, 2021.

2.0 ORDER OF REFERENCE

Pursuant to Standing Order 74.11:

- (1) After a public Bill other than a Government Bill has been read a first time, the Bill stands referred to the Private Bills and Private Members' Public Bills Committee.
- (2) The Private Bills and Private Members' Public Bills Committee shall report back to the Assembly within 8 sitting days of the day on which the Bill was referred to the Committee.

3.0 COMMITTEE ACTIVITIES

As part of the Committee's review of Bill 213 a Committee meeting was held on March 17, 2021. At that meeting the sponsor of Bill 213, Searle Turton, Member for Spruce Grove-Stony Plain, made a presentation on the Bill to the Committee, and the Committee received a technical briefing from the Ministry of Transportation. On March 22, 2021, five stakeholders made oral presentations to the Committee, and the Committee completed deliberations on Bill 213.

4.0 RECOMMENDATIONS

Pursuant to Standing Order 74.2 the Standing Committee on Private Bills and Private Members' Public Bills recommends

that Bill 213, Traffic Safety (Maximum Speed Limit for Provincial Freeways) Amendment Act, 2021, proceed.

APPENDIX A: LIST OF ORAL PRESENTERS

Organization	Name
Town of Edson	Mr. Gean Chouinard, Councillor
Faculty of Applied Science, School of Engineering, University of British Columbia, Okanagan Campus	Dr. Gordon Lovegrove, Associate Professor
Lac La Biche County	Mr. Omer Moghrabi, Mayor
SENSE BC	Mr. Ian Tootill, Co-founder
Injury Prevention Centre, School of Public Health, University of Alberta	Dr. Don Voaklander, Professor/Director