

Standing Committee on Resource Stewardship

Final Report:

Bill 211, Alberta Underground Infrastructure Notification System Consultation Act

Twenty-Ninth Legislature Fourth Session March 2019



Standing Committee on Resource Stewardship 3rd Floor, Edmonton Federal Building 9820 – 107 Street Edmonton AB T5K 1E4 780.415.2878

ResourceStewardship.Committee@assembly.ab.ca



STANDING COMMITTEE ON RESOURCE STEWARDSHIP

March 2019

To the Honourable Robert E. Wanner Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Alberta

I have the honour of submitting, on behalf of the Standing Committee on Resource Stewardship, the Committee's final report on the Review of Bill 211, *Alberta Underground Infrastructure Notification System Consultation Act*.

Sincerely,

[original signed]

Rod Loyola, MLA Chair, Standing Committee on Resource Stewardship



Table of Contents

Membe	ers of the Standing Committee on Resource Stewardship	3	
1.0	Introduction	. 4	
2.0	Order of Reference	. 4	
3.0	Committee Activities	. 4	
4.0	Recommendations	. 4	
Appendix A: Written Submissions from Stakeholders			
Appendix B: Written Briefings6			
Appen	Appendix C: List of Oral Presenters		

MEMBERS OF THE STANDING COMMITTEE ON RESOURCE STEWARDSHIP

29th Legislature, Fourth Session

Rod Loyola, MLA Chair Edmonton-Ellerslie (NDP)

Wayne Drysdale, MLA
Deputy Chair
Grande Prairie-Wapiti (UCP)

Erin D. Babcock, MLA Stony Plain (NDP)

Greg Clark, MLA Calgary-Elbow (AP)

Thomas Dang, MLA Edmonton-South West (NDP)

Derek Gerhard Fildebrandt, MLA Strathmore-Brooks (FCP)

David B. Hanson, MLA Lac La Biche-St. Paul-Two Hills (UCP)

Anam Kazim, MLA Calgary-Glenmore (NDP)

Jamie Kleinsteuber, MLA Calgary-Northern Hills (NDP)

Todd Loewen, MLA Grande Prairie-Smoky (UCP)

Christian E. Nielsen, MLA Edmonton-Decore (NDP)

Prasad Panda, MLA Calgary-Foothills (UCP)

Brandy Payne, MLA Calgary-Acadia (NDP)

Eric Rosendahl, MLA West Yellowhead (NDP)

Kim Schreiner, MLA Red Deer-North (NDP)

Substitutions Pursuant to Standing Order 56(2.1-2.4)

Dr. A. Robert Turner, MLA* Edmonton-Whitemud (NDP)

Lorne Dach, MLA§ Edmonton-McClung (NDP)

David Shepherd, MLA[†] Edmonton-Centre (NDP)

Colin Piquette, MLA[‡]
Athabasca-Sturgeon-Redwater (NDP)

Member also in Attendance on January 23, 2019:

Bill 211 Sponsor

David A. Schneider, MLA** Little Bow (UCP)

^{*} Substitute for Erin Babcock on January 23, 2019

[†] Substitute for Rod Loyola (as Chair) on February 26, 2019, and February 27, 2019

[‡] Substitute for Thomas Dang on February 26, 2019, and February 27, 2019

[§] Substitute for Eric Rosendahl on February 27, 2019 "Substitute for Prasad Panda on February 26, 2019, and February 27, 2019

1.0 Introduction

Bill 211, Alberta Underground Infrastructure Notification System Consultation Act, was referred to the Standing Committee on Resource Stewardship for review after being introduced and receiving first reading on November 28, 2018.

2.0 Order of Reference

Excerpt from the Votes and Proceedings of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta, Wednesday, November 28, 2018:

Introduction of Bills (First Reading)

Notice having been given:

Bill 211 Alberta Underground Infrastructure Notification System Consultation Act — Mr. Schneider

On motion by Mr. Schneider, Hon. Member for Little Bow, the Bill was referred to the Standing Committee on Resource Stewardship pursuant to Standing Order 74.1(1), with the committee reporting to the Assembly by the week of March 4, 2019.

3.0 Committee Activities

As part of the Committee's review of Bill 211 Committee meetings were held on January 23 and 25 and February 26 and 27, 2019. The sponsor of Bill 211, David Schneider, MLA for Little Bow, provided a written submission to the Committee on the Bill on February 8, 2019; written submisssions were also received from Colin Piquette, MLA for Athabasca-Sturgeon-Redwater, and the Hon. Margaret McCuaig-Boyd, Minister of Energy, on February 25, 2019. Written submissions were solicited from 56 identified stakeholders. The Committee received 15 written submissions from stakeholders, and representatives from six stakeholder organizations made oral presentations to the Committee on February 26, 2019.

4.0 Recommendations

Pursuant to Standing Order 74.2(1)

When a Bill is referred to a standing or special committee after first reading, the committee may conduct public hearings on the subject matter of the Bill and report its observations, opinions and recommendations with respect to the Bill to the Assembly.

The Standing Committee on Resource Stewardship recommends that Bill 211, *Alberta Underground Infrastructure Notification System Consultation Act*, proceed.

The Committee further recommends that:

any public meetings with stakeholders on the underground infrastructure notification system in Alberta conducted pursuant to Bill 211, *Alberta Underground Infrastructure Notification System Consultation Act*, include Indigenous groups, water utilities, and irrigation districts.

the report of the Committee required by Bill 211, *Alberta Underground Infrastructure Notification System Consultation Act*, include a recommendation for the Government to designate one ministry to be responsible for underground infrastructure notification in Alberta.

Appendix A: Written Submissions from Stakeholders

Name	Organization	
Ross Wickware	Safety in Schools Foundation of	
Managing Director	Canada	
Fraser Paterson	Plains Midstream Canada	
Director, Damage Prevention,		
Land, Community and		
Indigenous Affairs		
Byron D. Sackville	PelicanCorp (CA) Inc.	
General Manager		
Sherry McMullen	Pidherney's Inc.	
Civil Underground HSE		
Advisor		
Jeff Mulligan	Astec Safety Inc.	
Owner-Chief Operating Officer		
Tom Kee	Federation of Alberta Gas Co-	
Executive Director	ops Ltd.	
Robert Hadden	Trans Mountain Corporation	
Director, Western Region		
Al Kemmere	Rural Municipalities of Alberta	
President		
Ed Plant	T.E.P. R-O-W Co-ordination	
Consultant/Director	Inc.	
Mark Yeomans	TransCanada Corporation	
Chief Engineer and Vice		
President		
Peter McDowell	APWA (American Public Works	
President	Association) – Alberta Chapter	
Ron Glen	Alberta Roadbuilders & Heavy	
Chief Executive Officer	Construction Association	
Mike Sullivan	Canadian Common Ground	
President	Alliance	
Douglas F. Lapp	Ontario Regional Common	
President and Chief Executive	Ground Alliance	
Officer		
Rocky Pooke	2nd Call	

Appendix B: Written Briefings

Name	Organization
David Schneider, MLA, Little Bow	Legislative Assembly of Alberta
(Sponsor of Bill 211)	
Colin Piquette, MLA, Athabasca-Sturgeon-Redwater	Legislative Assembly of Alberta
Hon. Margaret McCuaig-Boyd, Minister of Energy	Ministry of Energy

Appendix C: List of Oral Presenters

Name	Organization
Mike Sullivan, President	Alberta One-Call Corporation
Ron Glen, Chief Executive Officer, Alberta Roadbuilders &	Alberta Common Ground Alliance
Heavy Construction Association	
Al Kemmere, President, Rural Municipalities of Alberta	
Melissa Pierce, Edmonton Area Pipeline and Utility Operators'	
Committee	
Michelle Tetreault, Executive Director	
Darcy Hurlock, Operations Manager	Telus Corporation
Ian Phillips, Manager, Government and Regulatory Affairs	Shaw Communications
Philippe Gauvin, Assistant General Counsel, Consumer and	BCE
Retail Business Regulation	
Armand Cardinal, Aboriginal and Community Relations	TransCanada Corporation



