Joe Ceci
Mr. Joe Ceci (NDP)
MLA for Calgary-Buffalo
Current Member 0838
Courtesy of Legislative Assembly of Alberta
MLA Biography

Joe Ceci was re-elected to his second term in the Legislative Assembly of Alberta on April 16, 2019. He represents the constituency of Calgary-Buffalo (previously he represented Calgary-Fort).

Mr. Ceci is the deputy chair of the Standing Committee on Resource Stewardship and a member of the Select Special Democratic Accountability Committee.

During his first term, Mr. Ceci served as President of Treasury Board and Minister of Finance.

Prior to serving with the Legislative Assembly, Mr. Ceci worked as a public policy manager with a community-based charitable organization in Calgary. Previous to this, he served as a city of Calgary alderman for 15 years. From 1988 to 1995 he worked as a community social worker with the city of Calgary, and from 1981 to 1987 he provided family counselling services for a number of organizations.

Mr. Ceci’s extensive community involvement has spanned more than 30 years and has included chairing the board of directors for the Folk Festival Society of Calgary and serving as a board member for both Habitat for Humanity and Calgary Bridge Foundation for Youth.

Recognition for his community service includes a lifetime achievement award for advocacy from the Family and Community Support Services Association, a Queen’s Diamond Jubilee medal, an Alberta centennial medal and nomination for a leadership award from the Alberta College of Social Workers.

He holds a bachelor of social work from the University of Western Ontario and a master of social work from the University of Calgary.

Among Mr. Ceci’s many accomplishments is a published work entitled Breaking the Cycle, which ran in Alberta Views magazine.

He and his wife, Christine, call Calgary home.

Mr. Ceci was the 838th Member to be sworn in to the Legislative Assembly of Alberta.

June 30, 2020

Legislative Assembly of Alberta
For technical questions or comments concerning this website contact webmaster@assembly.ab.ca