Mr. Fred Horne (PC)
MLA for Edmonton-Rutherford
Member 0777  [?]
Current Member
Fred Horne


Mr. Horne was elected to his second term as a Member of the Legislative Assembly for Edmonton-Rutherford on April 23, 2012. He currently serves as a member of the Standing Committee on Alberta’s Economic Future and the Standing Committee on Public Accounts.

He previously served as Minister of Health, as Minister of Health and Wellness, and as parliamentary assistant to Health and Wellness.

Committee involvement has included membership on the Cabinet Policy Committee on Public Health & Safety and the Treasury Board as well as on the Select Special Chief Electoral Officer Search Committee and the Standing Committee on Legislative Offices and chair of the Standing Committee on Health.

Prior to serving with the Legislative Assembly of Alberta, Mr. Horne worked as a health policy consultant for over 25 years, serving various government bodies and regional health authorities in addition to the public, private and not-for-profit sectors.

Throughout his career Mr. Horne worked extensively with the Conference Board of Canada, the Alberta government and the Mayo Clinic.

Mr. Horne holds a master of business administration degree from Royal Roads University and a postgraduate certification in dispute resolution from York University.

An avid volunteer, Mr. Horne has served on numerous boards including:

  • Alberta Mental Health Board
  • Athabasca University
  • Mediation and Restorative Justice Centre of Edmonton
  • Canadian Student Debating Federation

Additionally, Mr. Horne is a former debater and coached Team Canada at the World Schools Debating Championships. For his continued contributions to the development of debate and speech programs Mr. Horne received the Queen Elizabeth II Golden Jubilee Medal in 2002.

Mr. Horne and his wife, Jennifer, have lived in Edmonton since 1992.

November 20, 2014

Legislative Assembly of Alberta
For technical questions or comments concerning this website contact