Marie Renaud
Ms. Marie Renaud (NDP)
MLA for St. Albert
Current Member 0869
Courtesy of Legislative Assembly of Alberta
MLA Biography

Marie Renaud was elected to the Legislative Assembly of Alberta, representing the constituency of St. Albert, on May 5, 2015, and was re-elected on April 16, 2019.

Ms. Renaud currently serves as a member of the Standing Committee on Public Accounts and the Standing Committee on Privileges and Elections, Standing Orders and Printing.

She previously served as a member of the following committees:

  • Standing Committee on Families and Communities
  • Standing Committee Alberta Heritage Savings Trust Fund
  • Select Special Ethics and Accountability Committee

Prior to serving with the Legislative Assembly, Ms. Renaud worked for almost 15 years as the Executive Director of Lo-Se-Ca Foundation, a non-profit organization that provides residential and day supports to adults with developmental disabilities. Previous to this she spent two years at the Women’s Economic and Business Solutions Society and seven years as an instructor at MacEwan University.

She also devoted her time to various boards and committees. Besides serving as board chair for the Handicapped Housing Society of Alberta, she was a member of the board for the Alberta Avenue Business Revitalization Zone and the Norwood Neighborhood Association. In addition, Ms. Renaud served on various committees, including the Rehabilitation Practitioner Advisory Committee for MacEwan University and the St. Albert Accessible Transportation Advisory Committee. She also previously worked with the Edmonton Council of Service Providers.

Ms. Renaud holds a university certificate in counselling women from the Women’s and Gender Studies department at the University of Alberta, and a diploma in Community Disability Studies from MacEwan University.

She was named one of Edmonton’s Top 100 Women in Business by the University of Alberta’s Gateway Magazine in 2014, and she received a Prime Minister’s Volunteer award for Social Innovation in the Prairies region in 2013.

Ms. Renaud was the 869th Member to be sworn in to the Legislative Assembly of Alberta.

February 27, 2020

Legislative Assembly of Alberta
For technical questions or comments concerning this website contact webmaster@assembly.ab.ca