The Standing Committee on Legislative Offices approves the budgets of the Officers of the Legislature, including the Auditor General, the Chief Electoral Officer, the Child and Youth Advocate, the Ethics Commissioner, the Information and Privacy Commissioner, the Ombudsman and the Public Interest Commissioner, and reviews the salaries of the officers on an annual basis. The committee reviews officers' requests regarding proposed changes to legislation and forwards the recommendation to the appropriate ministry; the committee does not have the mandate to approve changes to legislation.

Upcoming Meeting Dates

Date/Time Location/Meeting Details
October 2020
Oct 9, 2020
10 to 11 a.m.
Rocky Mountain Room, 2nd Floor Federal Building
10/01/2020 14:29

Standing Committees

Standing committees are permanent committees as established by the Standing Orders. Appointed at the start of each new Legislature, standing committees comprise between nine and 15 Members of the Legislative Assembly and exist for the life of the Legislature although changes in membership may occur.

Committee Clerk
3rd Floor, 9820 – 107 Street NW, Edmonton, AB T5K 1E7
Call: 780.644.8621 Fax: 780.427.5688

Committee Members (11)

Joseph Schow

Mr. Joseph Schow (Chair)

Christina Gray

Ms. Christina Gray

Jackie Lovely

Ms. Jackie Lovely

Jeremy Nixon

Mr. Jeremy Nixon

Brad Rutherford

Mr. Brad Rutherford

Marlin Schmidt

Mr. Marlin Schmidt

David Shepherd

Mr. David Shepherd

Heather Sweet

Ms. Heather Sweet

Glenn van Dijken

Mr. Glenn van Dijken

Jordan Walker

Mr. Jordan Walker

Committees of the Assembly

Watch the Assembly

Live and archived streams of House and Committee proceedings.

Watch the Legislative Assembly of Alberta and its committees in action, live or at your convenience.