The Standing Committee on Alberta’s Economic Future is a legislative policy committee with a mandate that relates to the areas of Advanced Education, Culture, Multiculturalism and Status of Women, Jobs, Economy and Innovation, Labour and Immigration and Infrastructure.

On June 15, 2021, the Legislative Assembly passed Government Motion 86, which referred the Lobbyists Act  to the Standing Committee on Alberta’s Economic Future for review pursuant to section 21 of the Lobbyists Act. The committee must submit its report to the Assembly within one year after beginning its review and that report is to include any amendments recommended by the committee.

Current Business

Lobbyists Act Review

Upcoming Meeting Dates

Date/Time Location/Meeting Details
February 2022
Feb 23, 2022
9 a.m. to 12 p.m.
Rocky Mountain Room, 2nd Floor Federal Building
March 2022
Mar 2, 2022
9 to 11 a.m.
Rocky Mountain Room, 2nd Floor Federal Building
1/25/2022 4:49 PM

Legislative Policy Committees

A legislative policy committee reviews Bills referred to it, and may review any regulation, amendment to a regulation or prospective regulation within its mandate either on its own initiative or at the request of a Minister. A committee may also, on its own initiative or at the request of a Minister, inquire into and report on public policy matters within its mandate or inquire into, consider and report on any matter within its remit referred to it by the Assembly. Referrals of Bills, regulations or other subject matter by order of the Assembly take priority over any other hearing or inquiry. All legislative policy committees are standing committees, and thus exist for the life of a Legislature. 

Committee Clerk
3rd Floor, 9820 – 107 Street NW, Edmonton, AB T5K 1E7
Call: 780.415.2878 Fax: 780.427.5688

Committee Members (12)

Nathan Neudorf

Mr. Nathan Neudorf (Chair)

Nicole Goehring

Ms. Nicole Goehring (Deputy Chair)

Jackie Armstrong-Homeniuk

Ms. Jackie Armstrong-Homeniuk

Drew Barnes

Mr. Drew Barnes

Deron Bilous

Mr. Deron Bilous

Michaela Frey

Mrs. Michaela Frey

Janis Irwin

Member Janis Irwin

Miranda Rosin

Ms. Miranda Rosin

Garth Rowswell

Mr. Garth Rowswell

Heather Sweet

Ms. Heather Sweet

Glenn van Dijken

Mr. Glenn van Dijken

Jordan Walker

Mr. Jordan Walker

Committees of the Assembly

Watch the Assembly

Live and archived streams of Assembly and committee proceedings.

Watch the Legislative Assembly of Alberta and its committees in action, live or at your convenience.