The Standing Committee on Resource Stewardship is a legislative policy committee with a mandate that relates to the government areas of Agriculture and Forestry, Energy, Environment and Parks, Indigenous Relations, Municipal Affairs, Transportation and Treasury Board and Finance.

Current Business

Public Interest Disclosure (Whistleblower Protection) Act

On June 15, 2020, the Public Interest Disclosure (Whistleblower Protection) Act was referred to the Committee in accordance with Government Motion 22. The committee began its review of the Act on July 7, 2020, and must submit its final report to the Assembly, including any recommendations for amendments, within one year of this date.

Upcoming Meeting Dates

Date/Time Location/Meeting Details
October 2020
Oct 14, 2020
9 a.m. to 12 p.m.
Grassland Room, 2nd Floor Federal Building
10/01/2020 14:45

Legislative Policy Committees

A Legislative policy committee reviews Bills referred to it, and may review any regulation, amendment to a regulation or prospective regulation within its mandate either on its own initiative or at the request of a Minister. A committee may also, on its own initiative or at the request of a Minister, inquire into and report on public policy matters within its mandate or inquire into, consider and report on any matter within its remit referred to it by the Assembly. Referrals of Bills, regulations or other subject matter by order of the Assembly take priority over any other hearing or inquiry. All legislative policy committees are standing committees, and thus exist for the life of a Legislature. 

Committee Clerk
3rd Floor, 9820 – 107 Street NW, Edmonton, AB T5K 1E7
Call: 780.422.9601 Fax: 780.427.5688

Committee Members (12)

David Hanson

Mr. David B. Hanson (Chair)

Joe Ceci

Mr. Joe Ceci (Deputy Chair)

Lorne Dach

Mr. Lorne Dach

Richard Feehan

Mr. Richard Feehan

Shane Getson

Mr. Shane Getson

Todd Loewen

Mr. Todd Loewen

Pat Rehn

Mr. Pat Rehn

Miranda Rosin

Ms. Miranda Rosin

Irfan Sabir

Mr. Irfan Sabir

Peter Singh

Mr. Peter Singh

Mark Smith

Mr. Mark Smith

Muhammad Yaseen

Mr. Muhammad Yaseen

Committees of the Assembly

Watch the Assembly

Live and archived streams of House and Committee proceedings.

Watch the Legislative Assembly of Alberta and its committees in action, live or at your convenience.