The Standing Committee on Private Bills and Private Members’ Public Bills reviews all petitions for private Bills, hears from petitioners and any other persons interested in the private Bill and reports to the Assembly on its review. More information on private Bills.

In addition, Private Members’ Public Bills stand automatically referred to the committee, in accordance with the Standing Orders. The committee must report back to the Assembly concerning its recommendations on whether the Bill should or should not proceed to second reading debate within eight sitting days of the Bill’s referral. 

Upcoming Meeting Dates

Date/Time Location/Meeting Details
October 2021
Oct 26, 2021
6:15 to 7:30 p.m.
Rocky Mountain Room, 2nd Floor Federal Building
10/22/2021 19:05

Standing Committees

Standing committees are permanent committees as established by the Standing Orders. Appointed at the start of each new Legislature, standing committees comprise between nine and 15 Members of the Legislative Assembly and exist for the life of the Legislature although changes in membership may occur.

Committee Clerk
3rd Floor, 9820 – 107 Street NW, Edmonton, AB T5K 1E7
Call: 587.404.3735 Fax: 780.427.5688

Committee Members (11)

Joseph Schow

Mr. Joseph Schow (Deputy Chair)

Mickey Amery

Mr. Mickey Amery

Thomas Dang

Mr. Thomas Dang

Michaela Frey

Mrs. Michaela Frey

Shane Getson

Mr. Shane Getson

Janis Irwin

Member Janis Irwin

Chris Nielsen

Mr. Chris Nielsen

Brad Rutherford

Mr. Brad Rutherford

Lori Sigurdson

Ms. Lori Sigurdson

R.J. Sigurdson

Mr. R.J. Sigurdson

Committees of the Assembly

Watch the Assembly

Live and archived streams of Assembly and committee proceedings.

Watch the Legislative Assembly of Alberta and its committees in action, live or at your convenience.