The Select Special Committee on Real Property Rights was established by the Legislative Assembly through the passage of Government Motion 69 on March 22, 2021. The committee must report to the Legislative Assembly with recommendations by December 15, 2021.

The committee’s mandate is limited to consideration of:

  1. whether the legal remedies available to a real property owner who is deprived of the use of their real property are adequate;
  2. whether the real property rights should be expanded, or in the case of an individual, constitutionally protected;
  3. whether the law of adverse possession should be abolished;
  4. whether the expropriation processes provided under the Expropriation Act are adequate;
  5. any other matter that the committee decides is necessary to ensure the completeness of its review.

The Legislative Assembly referred Bill 206, Property Rights Statutes Amendment Act, 2020, to the committee for review on April 12, 2021, in accordance with Standing Order 78.1.

The committee may review, as part of its mandate, any part of the following statutes:

Alberta Bill of Rights; Alberta Land Stewardship Act; Expropriation Act; Land Titles Act; Law of Property Act; Limitations Act; Responsible Energy Development Act; and a review of any other Act that the committee determines is necessary to ensure the completeness of its review.

Upcoming Meeting Dates

There are currently no scheduled meetings.
12/01/2021 02:17

Select Special Committees

The Assembly strikes select special committees for specific purposes. A government motion is moved outlining the membership of the special committee, its terms of reference and other details. When a select special committee releases its report, its work is complete and the committee is disbanded unless otherwise directed by the Assembly. 

Committee Clerk
3rd Floor, 9820 – 107 Street NW, Edmonton, AB T5K 1E7
Call: 587.404.3735 Fax: 780.427.5688

Committee Members (12)

Michaela Frey

Mrs. Michaela Frey

Kathleen Ganley

Ms. Kathleen Ganley

David Hanson

Mr. David B. Hanson

Nicholas Milliken

Mr. Nicholas Milliken

Chris Nielsen

Mr. Chris Nielsen

Garth Rowswell

Mr. Garth Rowswell

Marlin Schmidt

Mr. Marlin Schmidt

Heather Sweet

Ms. Heather Sweet

Glenn van Dijken

Mr. Glenn van Dijken

Tany Yao

Mr. Tany Yao

Committees of the Assembly

Watch the Assembly

Live and archived streams of Assembly and committee proceedings.

Watch the Legislative Assembly of Alberta and its committees in action, live or at your convenience.