Legislative Assembly of Alberta
The Mace


June 2, 2006

Students awarded at the Alberta Legislature

Edmonton—“Imagine one day losing your cricket ball and finding a tiny hole beside where it had landed.  …You’ve found a, mind blowing cave; full of untouched sparkling minerals…You are the first person ever to enter this cave in history ...”

This begins the story Beneath the Surface that earned Grade 6 student Larissa Fester first prize in a province-wide parliamentary essay contest.  Speaker Ken Kowalski, hosted a ceremony today at the Alberta Legislature honouring Larissa of École Greenview School in the Edmonton-Mill Creek Constituency.

The student received congratulations from Honourable Gene Zwozdesky, Minister of Education and MLA for Edmonton-Mill Creek as well as a plaque and a $200 cheque on behalf of the Alberta Branch of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA).  All Alberta MLAs are members of the provincial branch of the association.

The Royal Commonwealth Society, Canada contributed to the Essay contest bursary adding $100 to the 1st place winner and introducing a 2nd and 3rd place winner to the Essay Contest.

Congratulations were extended on behalf of Weslyn Mather, MLA, Edmonton-Mill Woods, to Lauren Bombardieri of École Frère Antoine Catholic School who placed 2nd and to Dylan Podkowka of École St. Angela School who placed 3rd on behalf of David Eggen, MLA, Edmonton-Calder.
Three other Alberta students receiving CPA bursaries were also honoured. In an effort to increase young Albertans’ interest in parliament, the CPA awards bursaries annually to Alberta Girls’ Parliament (AGP) and TUXIS Parliament students.  Winners received a cheque and a commemorative plaque on behalf of the CPA.  Congratulations were extended by Honourable Ken Kowalski, MLA Barrhead-Morinville-Westlock to Alberta Girls’ Parliament (AGP) winner Caitlin Lyster and on behalf of Jack Flaherty, MLA St. Albert to winner Nicole Ifi who each received one half of an $800 cheque.  Congratulations were extended by Honourable Gene Zwozdesky, MLA, Edmonton-Mill Creek and Minister of Education to bursary winner Benjamyn McKay the TUXIS Parliament recipient of an $800 cheque and commemorative plaque.


Assembly Centennial Logo


For media inquiries, please contact:
Bev Alenius, Executive Assistant
Legislative Assembly of Alberta
Office of the Speaker
Phone: 427-2464
Email: bev.alenius@assembly.ab.ca


Legislative Assembly of Alberta
For technical questions or comments concerning this website contact