Premier and Executive Council

The executive branch of government within the parliamentary system in Alberta refers to the Premier and Cabinet Ministers, all of whom are appointed from the 87 elected Members of the legislative branch.

Also known as Executive Council,

the Premier and cabinet are the chief lawmakers and put government policies into action in the province.

In the parliamentary sense

government refers to cabinet, or Executive Council, which is led by the Premier and governs in the name of the monarch.


The Premier is the leader of the party holding the most seats in the Legislative Assembly,

and Cabinet Ministers are selected from the MLAs from that party. Executive Council sponsors the proposed laws and programs that put government policies into action. Ministers are responsible for administration and departmental program development for their portfolio.

Find Your MLA