The Standing Committee on Resource Stewardship is a Legislative Policy Committee with a mandate related to the areas of Affordability and Utilities; Energy and Minerals; Environment and Protected Areas; Forestry and Parks; Indigenous Relations; Municipal Affairs; Transportation and Economic Corridors; and Treasury Board and Finance.

Current Business

Personal Information Protection Act

Pursuant to Government Motion 9, agreed to on December 5, 2023, the Assembly has deemed the Standing Committee on Resource Stewardship a special committee for the purpose of reviewing the Personal Information Protection Act, as required by section 63 of that Act. The Committee commenced its review on January 22, 2024, and has 18 months to conduct its review and submit its report to the Assembly.

Call for written Submissions

The deadline for submissions passed at 4:30 p.m. on May 31, 2024.

Please note that submissions and the names of submitters may be made public.

Upcoming Meeting Dates

Date/Time Location/Meeting Details
June 2024
Jun 28, 2024
1 to 2 p.m.
Rocky Mountain Room, 2nd Floor, Queen Elizabeth II Building
6/20/2024 1:38 PM

Legislative Policy Committees

A legislative policy committee reviews Bills referred to it, and may review any regulation, amendment to a regulation or prospective regulation within its mandate either on its own initiative or at the request of a Minister. A committee may also, on its own initiative or at the request of a Minister, inquire into and report on public policy matters within its mandate or inquire into, consider and report on any matter within its remit referred to it by the Assembly. Referrals of Bills, regulations or other subject matter by order of the Assembly take priority over any other hearing or inquiry. All legislative policy committees are standing committees, and thus exist for the life of a Legislature. 

Committee Clerk
3rd Floor, 9820 – 107 Street NW, Edmonton, AB T5K 1E7
Call: 587.404.3735 Fax: 780.427.5688

Meeting Minutes

Copies of approved meeting minutes can be accessed through the Legislature Library at

Legislature Library

Call: 780.427.2473

Committee Members (10)

Garth Rowswell

Mr. Garth Rowswell (Chair)

Nagwan Al-Guneid

Ms Nagwan Al-Guneid

Jackie Armstrong-Homeniuk

Honourable Jackie Armstrong-Homeniuk

Nolan Dyck

Mr. Nolan Dyck

David Eggen

Honourable David Eggen

Grant Hunter

Honourable Grant Hunter

Myles McDougall

Mr. Myles McDougall

Scott Sinclair

Mr. Scott Sinclair

Heather Sweet

Ms. Heather Sweet

Committees of the Assembly

Watch the Assembly

Live and archived streams of Assembly and committee proceedings.

Watch the Legislative Assembly of Alberta and its committees in action, live or at your convenience.

Audio-Video Terms of Use